Best Buy’s PC gurus really don’t impress me in their knowledge

Salespeople at computer retail stores really should know their product by understanding what the customer wants; not throwing around tech terms they barely understand themselves.

By Gregory Moore

DALLAS, Texas — Over the weekend, the Moore household had to make a purchase for a new addition to the family.

No we didn’t get a dog or cat; we added to our computer offspring.

Now so that you understand, I’m a Mac guy.

I don’t despise Windows or the user base but I just like my stuff to work if you know what I mean.

And I also know that my preference of computer systems is on the high side of the computer-purchasing spectrum.

Let’s face it.

The mere fact that the cheapest desktop in Apple’s stable starts out at $699 and their entry-level laptop is $300 more.

So when you’re on a budget, you can’t always get what you want.

I’m okay with that fact because I know that sometimes necessity is going to be dictated by how many Abe Lincolns, George W’s and Bennies are in my wallet.

Over the weekend, let’s just say that necessity and wallet size won that battle.

And so for the time being the household has one Mac mini and one Windows 7 laptop.

But this isn’t about the new addition to the family or my ‘snootiness’ of computer choice as my girlfriend loves to say; it’s about the abhorrent perceived knowledge that Best Buy thinks is customer service.

Now maybe I’m a little touchy because I’m back in the IT field and customer relations is a part of my job.

Sure I am dealing with a lot of support issues but I also have to know the systems I’m servicing and I have to be able to sometimes sell those systems with confidence.

But is irking me as I write this blog is the fact that so many people at Best Buy who are in the PC section think that throwing out big words is what customers want to hear.

Well it’s not.

When my girlfriend hands me the box with the laptop she wants in it and says, “double check and make sure it has wifi built in”; that tells me that the sales person did not do his or her job.

Does every laptop have wifi built in now?

Sure it does.

But how about being professional and answering all of the customer’s objections and questions so that they are assured of making the right purchase.

Throwing around big words didn’t impress me with the people in the blue and yellow shirts; it really ticked me off.

And when I asked a more technical question on processor speed, getting stumped and making something up doesn’t help either.

(Yes the sales guy tried to smooze his way into telling me what type of processor the laptop had and what it meant and he failed miserably).

Word of advice Best Buy and anyone else who is at a retail shop selling electronic gizmos to us; know your product and know it well.

We consumers are a more savvy than you think and the last thing you want is for a customer to turn to their spouse or tech friend and ask them all the important questions that you should have answers to.

We don’t like big words; just words that make sense when we are spending large sums of money.

Leave a Reply

